Settlement.org logo

Register
Lost password

HomeQuestions about Permanent Residency

Note that Settlement.Org is unable to answer questions about how to immigrate. Residency requirements, Government in Canada, Bringing child born overseas...

Travelling before the PR card arrives 

Klaus
Klaus

Posted On: 7/6/2012
Klaus
Klaus
Hi all,

after being accepted as a permanent resident, I'll move to Canada by the end of August.

Luckily I don't have to find a job as I will be working for my current employer.

My job is to carry out installations and repairs of highly specialized machines worldwide.

Obviously this is not an office job, so my employer doesn't really care where I live.

Now I have read that leaving Canada before the PR card is issued might be a problem. Well actually re-entering the country is the problem.

As I usually need to leave on a rather short notice, sometimes even the next day, I can't possibly apply for travel documents beforehand.

Is there a solution to this problem? I'm pretty sure my employer wouldn't be very happy if I told him that I can't do my work for roughly 2 months (processing time plus the time it takes to find a home).

I was wondering if I can simply re-enter Canada without a travel document since I don't need a visa anyway (I am a German citizen).

Or is it possible to speed up the processing time for the PR card?

I'm not asking for a special treatment here, but not being able to travel for such a long time is a huge problem for me.

Any suggestions would be highly appreciated.
link
eyilmaz324
eyilmaz324

Posted On: 5/14/2014
eyilmaz324
eyilmaz324