Settlement.org logo

Register
Lost password

HomeQuestions about Permanent Residency

Note that Settlement.Org is unable to answer questions about how to immigrate. Residency requirements, Government in Canada, Bringing child born overseas...

Can my Husband stop me from Entering Canada? 

hansinii
hansinii

Posted On: 2/23/2015
hansinii
hansinii
Hi all

I am a permanent resident since January 2013.

I am in my home country now for a short stay. I am suppose to go back to canada on 29th April.

My husband called me yesterday and told me he want to end the marriage and he is sending the divorce papers via a lawyer.

We were married since January 201 and lived together in the same house since January 2013. We do not have kids

Can he stop me entering to Canada?

What should I do?

All your advises are welcome and much appreciated.
link
PMM
PMM

PMM
PMM
Hi

Hi all

I am a permanent resident since January 2013.

I am in my home country now for a short stay. I am suppose to go back to canada on 29th April.

My husband called me yesterday and told me he want to end the marriage and he is sending the divorce papers via a lawyer.

We were married since January 201 and lived together in the same house since January 2013. We do not have kids

Can he stop me entering to Canada?

What should I do?

All your advises are welcome and much appreciated.

1. No, he can't stop you.
2. Look at your PR card. Does have condition 51 on it? If it does, and you haven't lived with your spouse for 2 years in Canada, then you will have a problem.
3. When you return to Canada you should contact a family lawyer to protect your rights.

PMM
link
Klaus
Klaus

Klaus
Klaus
Hi,

as a PR, you are free to enter Canada at your discretion. Your sponsor (I'm assuming that would be your husband) has certain obligations, no matter if you are still together. From the CIC website:
What does it mean to sponsor?