Settlement.org logo

Register
Lost password

HomeQuestions about Permanent Residency

Note that Settlement.Org is unable to answer questions about how to immigrate. Residency requirements, Government in Canada, Bringing child born overseas...

COVID19 Pandemic Impact- Residency Requirements 

Wong
Wong

Posted On: 5/2/2020
Wong
Wong
I am a permanent resident since landing on 28 October 2015. I have stayed and accumulated 599 residency days in Canada. Still short of 131 days to meet/ maintain the residency days requirement for PR.

I have purchased a one way flight ticket in Malaysia to return to Canada on 28 March 2020 but was cancelled because of a travel ban on 18 March 2020 by Malaysia on all outbound and inbound flights because of the worldwide COVID 19 pandemic. The said travel ban is still in force.

As a consequence of this worldwide COVID 19 pandemic, international flights of all countries are either suspended or cancelled in an effort to contain the pandemic.
Due to the said Malaysia travel ban, uncertainties of international connecting flights availability and safety for travel, it appears that I will be unable to return to Canada by 15 June 2020 in order to fulfill the required balance of 131 residency days requirements.

I need advice as to which Canadian agency / department together with the right email address to appeal to, for a fair and reasonable extension of time in order to meet the required 131 residency days as I wish to maintain my PR status.

Thank you very much.
link

Posted On: 5/12/2020
Hello There,

Thank you for sharing your situation and question with us.

It is best that you contact IRCC using their web form to make a case-specific enquiry. It usually takes 2-5 days for IRCC to respond, however wait times for a response may be longer due to the COVID-19 situation.