Settlement.org logo

Register
Lost password

HomeQuestions about Permanent Residency

Note that Settlement.Org is unable to answer questions about how to immigrate. Residency requirements, Government in Canada, Bringing child born overseas...

Need an immigration attorney's suggestion 

aarya_a1
aarya_a1

Posted On: 8/15/2021
aarya_a1
aarya_a1
Dear Friends on Settlement.org,

I need your suggestion on my situation. I soft-landed as a PR of Canada in Feb 2018 and went back to the US as I was a full-time student there. While landing, the CBSA officer asked me for a Canadian address so they could send my PR card and I gave her one. But for some reason, the card was never delivered. I called up the IRCC office and had them re-deliver it. That too, never got delivered. After six months of non-delivery, I called up IRCC and they made me sign an affidavit that 180 days had passed and I didn't get my PR card. Now, my friend received my PR card (after six months) and the PR card bore an expiry date of Sept 2023.

My course work in the U.S. was until October 2019. I genuinely had intentions of returning to Canada and started looking out for a job before I relocated here. Unfortunately, due to Covid in 2020, and travel restrictions, I just couldn't relocate as planned. I called up quite a few immigration attorneys and wanted to hear from them until what time I could relocate so as not to jeopardize my PR status. ALL of them suggested that as the expiry date on my PR card is Sept 2023, I could relocate until Sept 2021 as I would still have two years on my card and I could comfortably fulfill my Residency Obligation. They also suggested that I leave 4-5 months of buffer and relocate by May 2021. And I did relocate in May 2021.