Settlement.org logo

Register
Lost password

HomePermanent Resident Card

How to apply, processing time, if you're outside of Canada...

PR Card Renewal- outside Canada 

Envisenvis
Envisenvis

Posted On: 3/27/2022
Envisenvis
Envisenvis
I am a permanent resident who lives outside of Canada but I meet the 730 days of stay in Canada required to renew my PR Card . My PR card expires in 6 months. Can I come to Canada to apply, and return back to Canada when my new Card is ready for delivery? I actually have a residential address at a relative’s apartment in Toronto? Is it a must that a person should be physically present in Canada while the application is being processed?
link

Posted On: 4/20/2022
Hello there,

Thank you for sharing your question and situation with us.

We spoke to a representative at IRCC who confirmed that you must be physically present in Canada to submit your application for PR renewal. The card will also need to be mailed to a Canadian address. Without an address in your name, you may instead wish to use a family address to mail your card.

You may also find helpful information in the Settlement.Org article, What are the residency requirements for permanent residents (PRs)?. Here is an excerpt:
As a permanent resident, you may travel outside Canada after you arrive. However, you must meet certain residency obligations to maintain your status as a permanent resident.
To meet these residency obligations, you must be physically present in Canada for at least 730 days (2 years) in every 5-year period. The 5-year period is assessed on a rolling basis. Immigration, Refugees and Citizenship Canada (IRCC) will look back at your time in Canada over the previous 5 years.