Settlement.org logo

Register
Lost password

HomePermanent Resident Card

How to apply, processing time, if you're outside of Canada...

Urgent Land crossing with expired PR card 

IsabelUK48
IsabelUK48

Posted On: 4/26/2022
IsabelUK48
IsabelUK48
Hello,
I really hope someone can provide advice! I am a permanent resident of Canada but stupidly let my PR card expire while out of the country for a family emergency. I have read that I could potentially bypass the PRTD requirement by travelling to the US and crossing the border in a private vehicle. Can anyone shed light on whether I'm likely to be allowed across the border if I do this? My PR card expired a few days ago, I can show my Ontario driver's licence and health card. I do not have any original landing documents with me but could provide proof of employment (eg. Job offer letter, pay statements) on my phone.
Thank you so much in advance!
link

Posted On: 4/30/2022
IsabelUK48 wrote:
Hello,
I really hope someone can provide advice! I am a permanent resident of Canada but stupidly let my PR card expire while out of the country for a family emergency. I have read that I could potentially bypass the PRTD requirement by travelling to the US and crossing the border in a private vehicle. Can anyone shed light on whether I'm likely to be allowed across the border if I do this? My PR card expired a few days ago, I can show my Ontario driver's licence and health card. I do not have any original landing documents with me but could provide proof of employment (eg. Job offer letter, pay statements) on my phone.
Thank you so much in advance!

Hello There,

Thank you for sharing your situation and question with us.

You will still need to provide travel documentation to enter Canada at the U.S. border. Based on information on the IRCC website, your mother will likely need to apply for a Permanent Resident Travel Document to return to Canada.