Settlement.org logo

Register
Lost password

brendasue311

all messages by user

5/17/2015
Topic:
Which forms to Renew Only & Short Shopping Trips?

brendasue311
brendasue311
I am a permanent resident of Canada, and very proud to be.

My PR card is fixing to expire in a couple of months and I want to get this done ASAP. This is my first time renewing.

I have well meaning friends and family members (Canadian) trying to help me with renewing my card and now I am confused, some say to fill out everything in the packet, some say I only need certain of those forms.

I don't want to screw this up.

In the packet of forms for getting, renewing, or replacing a PR card, there are forms that doesn't apply for me, so I think.

The "Use of a Representative" form for one. I am just renewing my card..I am not using a rep. Do I have to fill that one out? Or do I just put N/A in all of the spots on the form? Then other people told me to just fill out the main form IMM5444E.

So my first question is...Since I am only renewing my card, what forms MUST I fill out for that, and where should I be putting N/A if I need to send in ALL of the forms?

Next, in the spot where you write down each time in the last 5 years have I traveled outside of Canada, all I have for any kind of stay was when my mom died, and I was in the states for her funeral for I think 3 or 4 days. I can't remember that well.

But there have been maybe 3 or 4 times that I went across the border with my in-laws for lunch and shopping, no longer than 3 or 4 hours each of those times.

Do I have to write those trips down too?

I never kept track of those little trips (which, from now on I will, not that I go over much for that, not much of a shopper). I am worried because I would never be able to remember the dates those shopping trips.