Lost password

Jerry1410

all messages by user

5/23/2015
Topic:
PR Card Renewal - Notice of Tax Assessment

Jerry1410
Jerry1410
I lived outside Canada with my wife who is a Canadian Citizen for more than 730 days. As per the CIC rules I deem to have complied with the RO.

I want to renew my PR Card now and one of the additional documents to be provided to prove your residency is the Notice of Tax Assessment (NOA). Since I was a non resident I have not filed the tax returns and I cannot get this document.

The Consultant who is handling my application is insisting that I should provide this. Otherwise I am at a disadvantage.

In the mean time I have obtained CHRP (Certified HR Professional) Certification from CCHRA (Canadian Council of HR Association) by taking 2 very tough exams. This is a post secondary qualification and only Bachelor Degree Holders can earn this certification. My consultant tells me that this document is not good enough as an additonal evidence document as it was obtained through distance learning and not by residing in Canada.

I sought the opinion of another reputed Immigration Lawyer and he tells me that the NOA is definitely required for those applying to renew the PR by showing that they were physically residing in Canada. In the case of persons like me who are accompanying a Canadian Citizen abroad it is upfront understood that they were not physically present in Canada and the NOA is not required, but other documents to prove that the 2 were living together abroad are requried.

Please can you advise if there is anything in the Immigration Rules regarding this subject.

Thank you
5/23/2015
Topic:
PR Card renewal and PRTD

Jerry1410
Jerry1410
Hi

I came to know from a Consultant that for Permanent Residents who have been staying abroad with a Canadian Citizen they either renew the PR Card or give a PRTD (which is a Multiple Entry Visa valid for 5 years).