AMOGHNAIR

all messages by user

6/10/2015
Topic:
Permanent Resident - Child born overseas

AMOGHNAIR
AMOGHNAIR
Hello,

I have a small question regarding the temporary resident visa (TRV) for my 2year old child. In briefly I am an international PhD student on a study permit already in montreal, canada for more than a year. My wife is also a student on study permit yet to travel with our daughter who got a V1 visa (she applied for a dependant TRV but got V1 visa).

From what I read from cic website is that the TRV is like a visitor visa and that the validity of TRV and the eligible duration of stay are two different things. The TRV is valid for 3 years but the maximum duration where the child can stay is 6 months as stipulated at the border security by the officer. Then again we have to extend it by reapplying and repaying. Is it how V1 dependant visas work?

So my question is, do I have to do this every 6months? Is this the way to go about this for V1 visitor visa. Please let me know.

Thanks a lot.

My 5 months old daughter just got a Visitor Visa (V1 category) to Canada. It took only 3 days to process. I'm writing down the details of the application and documents we submitted. Both Parents are PR holders and Baby was born in India. Application was submitted in Delhi through VFS. Father lives in Canada and Mother is in India with the baby.

1. Documents attached (Xerox)
• Passport, PR Card, - both parents
• Dr. License (for address proof)
• Employment – Employment Agreement/Contract, Paystubs or cheque (Last 2)
• Finance – Bank Statements (last 3 months)
• Tax – T4 and Notice of Assessments –of the employed parent/s

2. Application Forms filled and Submitted
• Visitor Visa application form: I entered 1 year for the duration of stay under the Details of Visit section along with the reason as ‘Joining Parents’. Entered ‘NA’ for Employment details.
• Family Information form: Details of the applicant (Baby) + Details of both parents.