Settlement.org logo

Register
Lost password

HomeQuestions about Permanent Residency

Note that Settlement.Org is unable to answer questions about how to immigrate. Residency requirements, Government in Canada, Bringing child born overseas...

Working/volunteering with an international org 

gokhanji
gokhanji

Posted On: 7/17/2017
gokhanji
gokhanji
Dears

I am currently a permanet resident, and I intend to work/volunteer for an international humanitarian/development organization , for example ( Cuso International ( http://www.cusointernational.org/ ) , will the time that I spend working/volunteering with an international humanitarian organization ( registered in Canada ) be counted towards my physical presence to get my Canadian citizenship.

Generally; other than :

• Canadian Armed Forces
  • federal public administration
  • public service of a province or territory

Is it an option to work for an international ( Canadian Based ) peace building / humanitarian / development organization outside Canada, and still count the time spent outside the country towards the time needed to get my Citizenship ?

Thank you
link
PMM
PMM

Posted On: 7/18/2017
PMM
PMM
Hi

gokhanji wrote:
Dears

I am currently a permanet resident, and I intend to work/volunteer for an international humanitarian/development organization , for example ( Cuso International ( http://www.cusointernational.org/ ) , will the time that I spend working/volunteering with an international humanitarian organization ( registered in Canada ) be counted towards my physical presence to get my Canadian citizenship.

Generally; other than :

• Canadian Armed Forces
  • federal public administration
  • public service of a province or territory

Is it an option to work for an international ( Canadian Based ) peace building / humanitarian / development organization outside Canada, and still count the time spent outside the country towards the time needed to get my Citizenship ?

Thank you