Settlement.org logo

Register
Lost password

HomeSponsoring Family

Sponsorship of parents, children, spouses (common-law, conjugal, same sex), refugees.

Definition of Sibling 

Mohamad
Mohamad

Posted On: 1/21/2021
Mohamad
Mohamad
Hi Dear

I have a query, I became a canadian citizens recently, I am a full time student and i do not work, I was wondering, it is possible for me to sponsor my sister and my niece, but both of them are in backhome (Syria),
My sister is 18+ and my niece is a child is there is way I can sponsor them.

If anyone knows a way I can do that please let me know, I will appreciate it

Thank you
Regards,
link

Posted On: 2/3/2021
Hello,
Thank you for sharing your situation and question with us. We understand your interest in wanting to assess your options in this situation.
As a Canadian citizen, you could potentially sponsor your sister in exceptional circumstances. You can choose any one relative of any age to sponsor if you do not have a spouse, common-law partner, conjugal partner, child, parent or grandparent, or orphaned sibling, nephew/niece or child who is either a Canadian citizen or a permanent resident, or who is a foreigner that can be sponsored. For example, if you are married you cannot sponsor your sister to immigrate. The system is designed to favour persons who do not have relations in Canada and have no possibility to sponsor immediate family.
Additionally, you must also be at least 18 years of age and you must be able to agree in writing to give financial support to your sister and her daughter beginning from when they first become permanent residents for up to 20 years afterwards. This means that you will have to meet the following criteria:

- be able to support your relative financially when they arrive
- be able to meet basic needs for yourself and your relative, such as:
  • food
  • shelter
  • clothing

- be able to make sure that your relative doesn’t need social assistance