Settlement.org logo

Register
Lost password

HomePermanent Resident Card

How to apply, processing time, if you're outside of Canada...

Returning to canada 

weddingwoes
weddingwoes

Posted On: 16 days ago
weddingwoes
weddingwoes
Hello,

I am a permanent resident and I have a 3 year old daughter who is a Canadian citizen. We have to travel in the next 4-5 weeks outside of Canada and I do not have a permanent resident card. I read about the PRtravel document and I wanted to know what kind of risk I am taking by relying on getting that travel document in order to enter Canada at the end of our journey and also would you have any idea what the approx processing time is for those documents.

Thank you
link

Posted On: 15 days ago
Hello,

Thank you for using our forum for your question.

In regards to your question, you may find useful information in:

I need to leave Canada but do not have my PR card yet. What should I do?
https://settlement.org/ontario/immigration-citizenship/landing-and-leaving/leaving-canada/i-need-to-leave-canada-but-do-not-have-my-pr-card-yet-what-should-i-do/

Applying for a Permanent Resident Travel Document (IMM 5529)
https://www.canada.ca/en/immigration-refugees-citizenship/services/application/application-forms-guides/guide-5529-applying-permanent-resident-travel-document.html#5529E7

We hope that you find this information useful.

Thank you,
Settlement.Org

weddingwoes wrote:
Hello,

I am a permanent resident and I have a 3 year old daughter who is a Canadian citizen. We have to travel in the next 4-5 weeks outside of Canada and I do not have a permanent resident card. I read about the PRtravel document and I wanted to know what kind of risk I am taking by relying on getting that travel document in order to enter Canada at the end of our journey and also would you have any idea what the approx processing time is for those documents.

Thank you
link
Doubled
Doubled

Posted On: 12 days ago
Doubled
Doubled