Settlement.org logo

Register
Lost password

HomePermanent Resident Card

How to apply, processing time, if you're outside of Canada...

The possibility of renew PR card without SIN 

miller
miller

Posted On: 10/5/2020
miller
miller
I was landed in 2011 for only a week then back to my first country. In 2015, I was back in Canada again but stay for only two weeks. However, my PR card expired in July 2016.

In late 2019, I was back in Canada by eTA. However, when I tried to go to Service Canada for at least 5 times to apply for SIN, they rejected my request because the new regulation had been passed in 2016 that "the confirmation of PR is acceptable if used within one year of the date you became a PR. The PR card is required after this period".

I am now studying a course at a public college, I have a bank account with a debit card and credit card, cell phone bills, health card and driving license to indicated that I have been living here since late 2019. I am worried about the process of renewal of PR card and I have the following questions want to seek for the professional advice:

1. Am I eligible to renew my PR card but without SIN and taxation report?
2. What can I file my taxation report to CRA without a SIN?
3. How can I file my taxation report instead of using the SIN?

Please accept my apology for causing any inconvenience to all of you. Thank you very much.
link

Posted On: 10/21/2020
Hello There,

Thank you for sharing your situation and question with us.

You may find helpful information in the Settlement.Org article, What is a SIN and do I need one?
In most cases you need a SIN to file your income taxes. In some cases, you cannot get a SIN because you are not eligible. This is the case for some temporary residents. If you cannot get a SIN, you can use an Individual Tax Number (ITN) or Temporary Taxation Number (TTN) to file taxes, instead of a SIN.