Settlement.org logo

Register
Lost password

HomeUniversity and College Education

Colleges, Universities and Institutes, Evaluating Educational Credentials...

Can I be self-employed as an International Student 

ForumUser
ForumUser

Posted On: 1/23/2023
ForumUser
ForumUser
Hello. I am a college student in Ontario here on a study permit as an international student, can I be self-employed and run a small business? I have a small business backhome, and would like to start something similar in Canada selling clothes I make and design myself. I also graduate soon and want to apply for a PGWP will being self employed affect this application?
link

Posted On: 2/7/2023
Hi there,

Thank you for the question!

Self-employment, such as running your own small business, would be considered as “off-campus work”. Starting and running your own small business as an international student, i.e., conducting off-campus work, is possible provided that you have the required authorization and meet all prerequisites.

First, the conditions of your study permit must authorize you to work off-campus during your studies.

An international student is eligible to work off campus without a work permit so long as they:
  • have an explicit authorization on their study permit authorizing them to work off campus;
  • are a full-time student at a designated learning institution (a school that is approved by provincial or territorial government to host international students); are enrolled in a post-secondary, academic, vocational, or professional training program OR a secondary-level vocational training program (Quebec only);
  • are enrolled in a study program that is at least 6 months long and leads to a degree, diploma, or certificate
  • have started studying and are actively engaged in pursuing their study program; and
  • have a Social Insurance Number.