Settlement.org logo

Register
Lost password

HomeFinding a Job / Working

Finding a Job, Job Listings, Labour Market Information (LMI), Starting a Business, Social Insurance Number, Volunteering...

Remote work & work permit 

Hayhayley
Hayhayley

Posted On: 9/7/2023
Hayhayley
Hayhayley
Hi there,
I am an international post-graduate student in Toronto.
During my study here (roughly 1.5 years), I would like to work remotely for my employer in home country.

I find the following information from your website:
"According to the Immigration and Refugee Protection Regulations (IRPR), you can work here remotely as a visitor without a work permit for extended periods provided that: - You work for a non-Canadian company that offers business services outside of Canada. - The employer pays you outside of Canada. - The non-Canadian company has no Canadian operations, branches, or services offered here."
I can confirm my job fulfills all three criteria mentined above.

But will my international student status make me ineligible to work remotely for my home country employer?
Also, how long may that "extended periods" be?
Would appreciate your advice. Thank you
link

Posted On: 9/15/2023
Hi there,

Thank you for sharing your question and situation with us.

It may be best for you to consult a reputable and registered immigration consultant or an immigration lawyer for advice specific to your situation. You may find helpful information on how to find a reputable and registered lawyer or immigration consultant in the Settlement.Org articles, How do I find a lawyer? and What other kinds of legal help can I get?.

It may also help to connect with a community resource navigator at 211 to narrow your search.

211 Ontario is a free, confidential service. Their phone service is available 24 hours a day, 365 days a year. Here is a link to their live chat if you prefer to communicate online. Their live chat service is available Monday to Friday from 7am-9pm ET.