sl76

all messages by user

3/16/2015
Topic:
Permanent Residency for Spouse

sl76
sl76
Hello,

I'm a Canadian citizen currently working in Seoul. I have been working here for the past 15 years and have gotten married during this time (this year is our 10th anniversary).

My family and I are planning on moving to Toronto later this summer. Both of my sons have their Canadian citizenship cards, but my wife is a Korean citizen. I was hoping to apply for her permanent residency before we left. On the CIC site, it states that I would be able to apply for her permanent residency even though we are both residing outside of Canada at the moment. It also states that I would need to demonstrate that we will live in Canada WHEN she becomes a permanent resident. Does this mean that if we apply for her permanent residency while living outside of Canada, we will not be able to enter Canada before she becomes a permanent resident? In other words, would we be able to apply for her permanent residency now while we're living in Korea, move to Toronto in the summer, and have the process be completed while we're living there?

I know that we can also apply for her permanent residency once we are living in Toronto, but would she be allowed to enter Canada as an immigrant if we plan to apply after landing?

I apologize for the long message, but I haven't been able to get any assistance on our situation. I have asked the embassy but I wasn't able to get any responses that helped. and the CIC site doesn't have information on this kind of situation (or at least, I wasn't able to find it anywhere).

Any information you can provide will be greatly appreciated. Thank you for your time.
3/16/2015
Topic:
Enrolling my Children in School-Where to Register?

sl76
sl76
Hello,