Klaus

all messages by user

7/6/2012
Topic:
Travelling before the PR card arrives

Klaus
Klaus
Hi all,

after being accepted as a permanent resident, I'll move to Canada by the end of August.

Luckily I don't have to find a job as I will be working for my current employer.

My job is to carry out installations and repairs of highly specialized machines worldwide.

Obviously this is not an office job, so my employer doesn't really care where I live.

Now I have read that leaving Canada before the PR card is issued might be a problem. Well actually re-entering the country is the problem.

As I usually need to leave on a rather short notice, sometimes even the next day, I can't possibly apply for travel documents beforehand.

Is there a solution to this problem? I'm pretty sure my employer wouldn't be very happy if I told him that I can't do my work for roughly 2 months (processing time plus the time it takes to find a home).

I was wondering if I can simply re-enter Canada without a travel document since I don't need a visa anyway (I am a German citizen).

Or is it possible to speed up the processing time for the PR card?

I'm not asking for a special treatment here, but not being able to travel for such a long time is a huge problem for me.

Any suggestions would be highly appreciated.
5/6/2014
Topic:
PR Card Renewal and Unemployment - Questions

Klaus
Klaus
Hi,

the Service Canada website states:
Am I allowed to leave Canada while receiving regular benefits?

Usually, you are not eligible to receive regular benefits while you are away from Canada. However, you can receive regular benefits if you show that you are available for work in Canada while abroad and you inform your local Service Canada Centre that you will be away temporarily.

You can be outside Canada for a period of seven consecutive days for the purpose of:
•attending the funeral of a member of your immediate family or a close relative;